PUPO take 3

After 5 days of waiting and wondering what was going on with our four embryos we went in for transfer on Saturday morning.

Two had stopped developing at day 3 (interesting as perhaps that is why the previous two failed?), one was a high quality blastocyst and one a low grade. They gave us the option of putting both back in but explained that there is research to suggest the lower grade can impede the good one so we just went for one and hoped the second would have a growth spurt overnight and be capable of freezing. A new concept to us, we’ve never had a choice before!

So I am now officially PUPO (pregnant until proven otherwise) until test date on the 12th when I will know one way or the other. The dreaded 2 week wait now ensues. I’ve made it two days so far without it dragging too much but back in work today when the mind wanders back to it every other minute. I’m avoiding chemicals, anything strongly scented (although put sunscreen on without thinking about it on Saturday and immediately felt guilty) and strenuous exercise but otherwise have to carry on as normal.

However, I have a dilemma, I woke at 5am on Sunday with proper tooth ache. I need a filling re-doing (potentially a root canal) but have been putting it off whilst undergoing treatment. Apparently that was not a good idea and it’s chosen to peak now (of all times)! I really don’t want to go to the dentist, it stresses me out so much (even on a good day) it will not be good for the embryo. But if I don’t go the tooth will get worse and that would also be bad for the embryo. What to do?! The clinic said I can go to the dentist and just tell them I’m pregnant. It’s the physical stress that I’m worried about the most though. Do I put it off until after test day? Still not ideal but at least I won’t feel I’ve jeopardised implantation? I just don’t know. It’s not hurting as much today so may see if I can hold off a bit longer. Until the pain forces me to go! Any dentists with any advice?

Leave a comment